The Scenic Route

I’m sitting at a small service garage twenty minutes from the Grand Canyon, getting my oil changed before embarking on the final 500 miles of what will end up as a 4000 mile trek.

Got up early so that I’d have a couple hours to check out the canyon and still get to Nabeel’s place in time for Obama’s speech tonight. As you can see from the photos it is in fact quite grand, as far as canyons go, and the only thing I can really say about it is that I wish I could stay much longer to explore the trails, check out the northern rim, the Colorado river, etc etc. Also, in case anyone was concerned, yes, there is a McDonald’s here. Capitalism at work.

Speaking of which, the city of angels beckons and the grizzled old mechanic who calls me ‘young man’ just rang me up, so off I go. Next time you hear from me I will be a resident of Los Angeles.

About this entry