Bunny Colvin Lives

So when I was in Massachusetts for the holidays, I read an article in the Globe about police dissatisfaction over Prop 2, the decriminalization of marijuana, complaining that it was poorly written and impractical to enforce.  Now some of these cops are just being whiny bitches about relaxing the drug laws, while others raise procedural points like, “If I don’t suspect the smoker of committing a crime, I can’t demand his identification, so I can’t write him a ticket for the civil offense of smoking.”  I didn’t get the broader implications of that piece of reporting until I saw this article today (via Sully), which makes it clear that  in various jurisdictions in Massachusetts, smoking weed is not just decriminalized, but de facto legal. Hamsterdam, anyone?

About this entry