The Office, “Golden Ticket” Review

This week’s outing did a lot more for me than “Blood Drive,” which I felt was mostly a wheel-spinning episode. Alan Sepinwall, who I should really add to the blogroll already, found Michael’s weaselly behavior unpleasant and distracting, if not out-of-character. I didn’t have any problems with it.

The whole episode had a sense of shifting into a higher gear, as Michael burns through his remaining good will with David Wallace and sets us up for the new corporate character being introduced next week (Jan 2.0), played by Idris “Stringer Bell” Elba. I am really psyched for his plot to start and I think the results will give the show fresh fuel for at least the rest of this season and the beginning of season six.

But macro-plotting aside, on a micro level this episode was full of great material. The knock-knock bookends, anything Michael did while wearing the Willy Wonka hat and cane, the B-plot with Kevin and the conflicting advice (Andy’s meltdown was a highlight of the episode), and probably my favorite part of the night:

Michael: Why do you have a diary?
Dwight: To keep secrets from my computer.

Of course.

About this entry